Sunday, 11 October 2009

Going to put more effort into this blogging marlarky



Going to try and start this blog up again and get my thoughts down on football,clothes,real ale and whatever I think may be intresting reading ( assuming that peoople read this blog...). Should be doing a good few posts a week maybe more anyway thanks to anyone who reads this and there will be a few more posts within the next few days!

Social Class?

In todays society do we have " social class?" Is it still in todays society but more subdued and also not as easy to class?. Me, im working class due to my family work hard for there money and have just a bit of money left over for some fun.
But does it really matter if your Working Class,Middle Class,Upper Class? as long as you arnt stuck up your arse and dont look down on people i presume it really just doesnt matter anymore but in years gone by it did, for instance the mining strikes etc.. so to some up this short and trying to be creative within my writing post I think class is still around but maybe it just isnt important anymore?

Saturday, 10 October 2009

How sh*t is fooball?

Todays football is stale,shit and ofcourse overpriced. Burnley are charging 32 quid for a adult ticket for our away game to there place...32 quid for Burnley.fuck me.
I will only be going if they have a student ticket or if i can get away with a kids one mind.
Also todays players are fucking premadona twats diving if someone goes within a foot of them...oh and are grossley overpaid for what they do ( to kick a ball for 90 mins.)
In yesteryear players got muddy and actually got stuck in and actually cared for the club they played for, for istance my old man was telling me about Hary Lyon who broke his leg in a FA cup game at Springfield Park he got it fixed up, came back on and scored a hatrick. Name me one player in todays game who would do that.
Next up is the Premiership this league is fucking wank and the novitaly effect is just about wearing off ( even though i will still go...since its my club im watching.) You know who is going to be in the top 4/6 and who may be mid table so theres fuck all to play for, I cant wait for the days of lower league football to come back to us and get the bandjumping tossers away from my club.
Yeah football is shit and im still going ( work that one out).

Tuesday, 15 September 2009

Yet another " not been on in a while" post

These seem to be a reacuring thing! anyway on the football front Wigan Athletic had a fantastic start to the season, winning 2-0 at Villa but that seems a long time ago imo since then we have been knocked out of the league cup to Blackpool 4-0 which if im honist wasnt the best awayday for a varity of reasons, We also lost against wolves at home 1-0 but we did win against West Ham at home last sat and I hope that the results start coming in. This weekend see's the latics go to " that london" against the gunners I would be going to the game if I wasnt in work at 7 and could make the trip there and back.
Cinema wise I have been watching quite a few films, Last night I watched One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest and I have to say was an amazing film. Nick Love has done a " Remake" of the Firm, I still have to watch the film but I personaly think it will be shite. Here is the link to the Gardieans review. http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2009/sep/12/nick-love-the-firm

Wednesday, 27 May 2009

Whats been going on....

Not had a good post on here for a while so thought i would just up date. Lost 2-0 to Stoke City at the Britannia Stadium. 2 pubs near the ground and since i had work straight after couldnt have a look around. Quite a poor performance from latics i think but Cho-Won Hee made his debut for the club so fair enough for him. Pompey at home was the last game at the " The DW Stadium". Hugo Rodallega scored the only game of the game and Latics finished on a win at the end of the season even though i had to leave at the end of the game due to getting to work ( which seems to have a complication whenever i go to the football). Picked up a fantastic LL bean Vintage parka which i think looks fantastic for a very good price as well. Finally decided to get another pair of jeans but this time they will not be from Blue Harbour. I gave Uniqlo a chance, i wanted the Japanese selvedge denim jeans but they did not do them in my waist. So i went with the basic Straight Legged jean at 25 quid so not to bad on the price front!.
Ended up in Manchester on the Bank Holiday Monday to have a good drink for a mates birthday which took us up to the Northern Quarter of the city then ended up at the Oyster Bar where we supped the very busy and very sunny Beer Garden overlooking that big wheel and the crowds ( and some very good lucking girls) go by.
Then we ended up looking for a certain pub called The Peveril of the Peak which had some very nice guest ales on and ended up putting The Stone Roses on the Jukey but to get there we had to get a taxi etc.. The last pub of the day was called The Britons Protection which had a nice beer garden and was a nice pub to finish off the day so my mates ended up getting a train back to Yorkshire and i got on the next train back to good old Wigan.
After a few ales in here we ended up in our last pub of the day

Saturday, 28 March 2009

Not posted for a while....

And there has not been much to post about recently but now i feel there is.
Went to Wigan beer festival last week and i have to say there where some top ales.
Stand out ones for me where:


Allgates Groundhop day which is 3.8% and as the "tasting notes" say its a Well balanced straw coloured ale, easy drinking with a berry/herbal aroma!


Allgates Nightmare On Ale Street - classic porter,dark and rich - bursting with malt falvours - 5.2%

Strawberry beer ( don't now the name of the brewers)

Toffee Ale ( very nice i thought)- Fed up with fruit?,this ones got toffee flavour..

Hopstar - Smokey Joes Black Beer - 4% - multi award winning ale, dark and full of chocolate


and i tasted some Gayhakers West Country cider which was very good i thought ( even though i dont remember how to spell the name..)

I went with some mates and we all tasted what brews we each got and the ones that i thought were alreet was:

Empire Strikes Back - 4% , Pale golden hoppy session beer


The "tasting notes" were taken from the "Wigan Beer Festival 2009" booklet

Football front:


Latics one Hull City 1-0 with a Ben Watson goal. I may self did not go to the match due to work but was told that it was alright. Latics taken everton next Sunday which i should be attending. Its a fantastic old ground Everton the wooden seats etc fantastic.
I also should be attending the Wigan Robin Park fc game against AFC united this Tuesday. I have only got to go to one game this season against Ashton Town at home and i have to say i am looking forward to it.


Clothes front:

Not much since i have not had a lot of money but i should have a pair of Adidas Samba Supers coming through over the next few days which should be oreet.
And i also got a Blue Harbour blue/white s/s shirt and a black polo from Marks and Spencers in sunderland on my recent trip up there.

Tuesday, 3 March 2009

First time i have been to football...

In a month tomorow where the Latics will go against West Ham at home tomorow, when we played at Upton Park this year we lost 2-1 but was a fantastic day getting the train in from Luton to London ( the one with the massive steel work around think its kings cross/euston dont know) day on the beer etc...well tomorow we take them on at the JJB and I am hoping for 3 points and if we played like we did against chelsea then i feel like we will be able to take all the points. I hope that Valencia will be back into the starting eleven the korian player that has been talked about should be making his debut as well as mido may be coming back well i certainley cant wait and shall be taking my concoxion of pain killers to see my bad back thourought the game!